The Scientific Advisory Council

Since Baltic Worlds first started being published in 2009, there has been an editorial board with researchers from several countries and disciplines. The editorial board meets at least twice a year to review and discuss the development of the magazine. It is the editorial board that guarantees the dual purpose of the magazine: to disseminate knowledge about and generate interest in research in the Baltic Sea region and Eastern Europe, and to provide a space for researchers in different countries and disciplines to be heard. The scientific advisory council is in dialogue with the editorial board about how these goals can best be achieved.

The advisory council is responsible for the quality of the articles written by researchers, which includes ensuring that all these articles are peer-reviewed by two independent, anonymous researchers before publication.

The advisory council consists of:

Thomas Lundén, Board Chair, em. professor, human geography, CBEES, Södertörn University

Joakim Ekman, professor, history, Research Director, CBEES

Sari Autio-Sarasmo, senior researcher, history, Aleksanteri Institute, Helsinki

Monica Hammer, associate professor, environmental science, research leader, CBEES, Södertörn University

Ann-Cathrine Jungar, associate professor, political science, Director of Studies, BEEGS

Jens E. Olesen, professor, Nordic history, University of Greifswald

Barbara Törnqvist-Plewa, University of Lund

Lars Johannsen, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Li-Bennich-Björkman, professor, Uppsala University, Skytteanum, Sweden

Contact the chair of the advisory council:

Thomas Lundén, CBEES

thomas.lunden (at)